Press "Enter" to skip to content

Azad to contest from Anantnag Lok Sabha constituency

Last Updated on April 2, 2024 at 6:56 pm

Former Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister and DPAP chief, Ghulam Nabi Azad will contest the upcoming Lok Sabha polls from the Anantnag constituency.

“Today the core committee of DPAP met and we have decided that (party president) Ghulam Nabi Azad will contest the Anantnag-Rajouri seat,” DPAP senior leader Taj Mohiuddin told media in Srinagar.

This will be the first Lok Sabha election for Azad after he lost from Udhampur constituency in 2014 to BJP leader Jitendra Singh.

On the possibility of an alliance with the Apni Party of Altaf Bukhari, Mohiuddin said no progress has been made on that front.

Mohiuddin said candidates for other Lok Sabha Seats in Kashmir will be decided in due course.

The seat covers Anantnag, Shopian, Pulwama and Kulgam districts of south Kashmir and most parts of the border districts of Rajouri and Poonch in the Jammu region.