Press "Enter" to skip to content

Delimitation Commission categorizes J&K districts into A, B and C

Last Updated on December 21, 2021 at 1:15 pm

The Delimitation Commission has categorized all the 20 Jammu and Kashmir districts into A, B and C giving a margin of plus and minus 10 of average population per assembly constituency.

The Commission has also proposed carving out of additional constituencies for some districts to balance the representation for geographical areas having inadequate communication and lack of public conveniences due to their excessive remoteness or inhospitable conditions on the international border.  

Chandra Bhushan Kumar, Senior Deputy Election Commissioner gave detail presentation on the work done.  

He informed that in the Union Territory, since last delimitation, number of districts has increased from 12 to 20 and number of tehsils from 52 to 207.  “The population density in the districts of the Union Territory varies from 29 persons per square km in Kishtwar to 3436 persons per square km in Srinagar” he informed.  

“For the first time, in Jammu and Kashmir, 9 seats are proposed to be allocated for Scheduled Tribes out of 90 seats on the basis of population.  7 seats are proposed for Scheduled Castes” an official statement read.

The Delimitation Commission under the Chairmanship of Justice (Retd) Ranjana Prakash Desai met on Monday in which Dr Farooq Abdullah, Dr Jitendra Singh, Mohammad Akbar Lone, Hasnain Masoodi and Jugal Kishore Sharma were present.