Press "Enter" to skip to content

Papers of 3 candidates rejected, 23 in fray for Jammu LS seat

Last Updated on April 6, 2024 at 6:40 pm

The Returning Officer (RO) for the 5-Jammu Parliamentary Constituency, Sachin Kumar Vaishya, today conducted the scrutiny of nomination papers submitted by the candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. The process of the scrutiny was held at the office of Returning Officer here at D C Office complex.

After thorough scrutiny, the nomination forms of 23 candidates namely Jagdish Raj from Bahujan Samaj Party, Jugal Kishore from Bharatiya Janata Party, Naresh Kumar Chib from Jammu & Kashmir National Panthers Party (Bhim), Raman Bhalla from Indian National Congress, Ankur Sharma from Ekam Sanatan Bharat Dal, Swami Divya Nand from Jammu & Kashmir Nationalist People’s Front, Rattan Lal from Jammu & Kashmir People’s Conference, Shikha Bandral from National Awami United Party, Qari Zaheer Abbas Bhatti from All India Forward Block, Ganesh Choudhary from Hindustan Shakti Sena and Atul Raina, Bansi Lal, Perseen Singh, Dr Prince Raina, Raj Kumar, Roop Krishen Dhar, Satish Poonchi, Surinder Singh, Shaber Ahmed, Principal CD Sharma, Karanjit, Naresh Kumar Talla and Vicky Kumar Dogra as Independent candidates were found validly nominated candidates.

The candidature of three candidates namely Chanranjeet Chargotra from BSP (Covering Candidate), Indra Bhalla from Indian National Congress (Covering Candidate) and Ravinder Singh, Independent Candidate were rejected in accordance with the norms.

As per the issued election notification, the candidates can withdraw their nomination before 03:00 pm on April 08, 2024 in the office of Returning Officer.

The constituency is scheduled for polls in the second phase of General Elections to be held on April 26, 2024.