Press "Enter" to skip to content

Centre executes orders of J&K delimitation commission

Last Updated on May 21, 2022 at 1:26 pm

In an attempt to redraw assembly and parliamentary constituencies in Jammu and Kashmir and rationalizing of polling stations, orders of delimitation commission will take effect from May 20.

The two orders of commission  includes one of March 14 dealing with the number of constituencies reserved for various categories and the second of May 5 dealing with the size of each constituency will come into effect together from May 20.

Since the suggestions and recommendations have been accepted by the centre, it is anticipated that assembly elections in J&K can be held soon.  Election Commission of India has to go for rationalization of Polling Stations and revision of Electoral Rolls, which hasn’t taken place since 2019. As per reports, assembly elections in Jammu and Kashmir can be held only after Electoral Rolls are revised and Polling Stations rationalized,

According to the orders of the Commission, set up under the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganization Act of 2019, the Union Territory will have 90 Assembly constituencies — 43 in Jammu Division and 47 in Kashmir — with nine of them being reserved for the Scheduled Tribes. It also brought areas of Rajouri and Poonch under the Anantnag Parliamentary seat.