Press "Enter" to skip to content

Delimitation Commission to visit Jammu and Kashmir from July 6 to July 9

Last Updated on June 30, 2021 at 3:16 pm

Delimitation Commission under the Chairpersonship of  Justice (Retd.) Ranjana Prakash Desai has decided to visit the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir from 6 July to 9 July.

During this period, the Commission will interact with political parties, public representatives and Union Territory administration officials including District Election Officers/ Deputy Commissioners of 20 districts of the Union Territory to gather first hand information and input concerning the on-going process of delimitation as mandated under the Jammu & Kashmir Reorganization Act, 2019.

The Delimitation Commission was constituted in March 2020 and its term was extended by another year in March 2021 in view of the on-going pandemic.

Third Member of the Commission is the State Election Commissioner of Union Territory of J&K. The Commission also has five Associate Members nominated by the Speaker, Lok Sabha. The Commission already had series of meetings related to data/ map of the Districts/ Constituencies related to census 2011. Earlier, it invited all Associate Members for interaction, which were participated by two of the Associate Members.