Press "Enter" to skip to content

Modi Cabinet reshuffle: Harsh Vardhan, Pokhriyal quits, 43 ministers to take oath

Last Updated on July 7, 2021 at 6:10 pm

Ahead of major reshuffle of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Union Cabinet, so far 12 ministers have resigned from the council of ministers. To name few it includes Health Minister Harsh Vardhan, Education Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank and Labour Minister Santosh Gangwar.

Several other ministers including Babul Supriyo, Debasree Chaudhuri, Rattan Lal Kataria, Sanjay Dhotre, Thawarchand Gehlot have also tendered their resignation.

Both education and health sectors have been crucial and much challenging in the times of ongoing pandemic, thus hoping for some big-ticket announcement after the resignation of  health and education minister.

This is PM’s cabinet first reshuffle in his second term and will witness 43 ministers being sworn in this evening.

Speculations about the cabinet reshuffle had been happening since month-long deliberations which saw PM Modi hold meetings with Union Home Minister Amit Shah and BJP National President JP Nadda. Performances of different ministeries were assessed and the reshuffle comes up keeping in mind future challenges.

As per reports, Narendra Modi’s new cabinet will represent the hopes and aspirations of people and will be the youngest cabinet. The new cabinet will have 12 minsters from the Dalit community. Each of these ministers is from a different SC community. Two of these SC ministers will have full cabinet rank. There will be a record 27 OBC ministers according to government sources from 19 backward caste communities, including Yadavs, Kurmi, Jat, Darji, Koli and Vokkaligas. Ministers who will take oath on Wednesday for their new departments are Narayan Rane, Sarbananda Sonowal, Dr. Virendra Kumar, Jyotiraditya M Scindia, Ramchandra Prasad Singh, Ashwini Vaishnaw, Pashupati Paras, Kiren Rijiju, Raj Kumar Singh, Hardeep Singh Puri, Mansukh Mandaviya, Bhupender Yadav, Parshottam Rupala, G. Kishan Reddy, Anurag Singh Thakur, Pankaj Choudhary, Anupriya Singh Patel, Dr. Satya Pal Singh Baghel, Rajeev Chandrasekhar, Shobha Karandlaje, Bhanu Pratap Singh Verma, Darshana Vikram Jardosh, Meenakshi Lekhi, Annapurna Devi, A. Narayanaswamy, Kaushal Kishore, Ajay Bhatt, B. L. Verma, Ajay Kumar, Chauhan Devusinh, Bhagwanth Khuba, Kapil Moreshwar Patil, Pratima Bhoumik, Dr. Subhas Sarkar, Dr. Bhagwat Kishanrao Karad, Dr. Rajkumar Ranjan Singh, Dr. Bharati Pravin Pawar, Bishweswar Tudu, Shantanu Thakur, Dr. Munjapara Mahendrabhai, John Barla, Dr. L. Murugan and Nisith Pramanik.