Press "Enter" to skip to content

Revisiting 26/11 Mumbai attacks by Lashkar-e-Taiba

Last Updated on November 26, 2020 at 4:15 pm

The terror attacks of 26 November 2008 left an everlasting scar on the city of Mumbai. The 10 Pakistani terrorists who entered the city from the sea targeted many prime locations in South Mumbai including the Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus (CST) railway station, Leopold Cafe, Taj Hotel, and Tower, the Oberoi-Trident Hotel, Nariman House complex, and Cama Hospital. These terrorists became the cause of the death of around 190 people and left hundreds of others wounded.

The attacks were condemned by the Pakistan. Ajmal Kasab was the only attacker caught alive. He disclosed that the terrorist group named Lashkar-e-Taiba staged this attack. The Indian Government stated that all the terrorists came from Pakistan, and their bosses were in Pakistan.

Later, Pakistan confirmed that the sole surviving attacker was a Pakistani citizen. The main leader of the attacks, Zakiur Rehman Lakhvi, was released on bail on 9 April 2015 and then he disappeared. The former prime minister of Pakistan Nawaz Sharif signaled in 2018 that the government of Pakistan played a role in the 2008 Mumbai attack.

Only one of the total 10 attackers, Ajmal Kasab, was alive at the end of the attack. In 2012, Kasab was hanged in Yerwada jail. The other nine attackers who were killed during the attacks were Abdul Rahman Chhota, Hafiz Arshad alias Abdul Rehman Bada, Fahadullah alias Abu Fahad, Nazir alias Abu Umer Ismail Khan alias Abu Ismail, Javed alias Abu Ali, Babar Imran alias Abu Akasha, Nasir alias Abu Umar, and Shoaib alias Abu Soheb. According to the scholar Saroj Kumar Rath says three local Indians, Sabahuddin Ahmed, Basheer and Fahim Ansari, provided assistance to the attackers in carrying out the attacks. Basheer supported David Headley, who arranged the travel documents for him.
  • Assistant Police Sub-Inspector Tukaram Omble, who captured a terrorist alive, with his bare hands.
  • Chief of the Mumbai Anti-Terrorism Squad and Joint Commissioner of Police Hemant Karkare
  • Additional Commissioner of Police: Ashok Kamte
  • Encounter specialist Senior Inspector Vijay Salaskar
  • Senior Inspector Shashank Shinde
  • NSG Commando, Major Sandeep Unnikrishnan
  • NSG Commando, Hawaldar Gajender Singh Bisht