Press "Enter" to skip to content

Samba: 10 Candidates in fray for Purmandal DDC Seat

Last Updated on November 27, 2020 at 5:54 pm

A total 10 candidates are in fray for Purmandal District Development Council seat which is going to polls tomorrow- the phase-I of the UT wide DDC elections.

The Polling parties for Purmandal block were today dispatched from Vimal Muni College, Vijaypur in a fleet of 27 buses, mini buses and other vehicles.

A total of 35 polling stations have been set up for the DDC seat,  of which 08 have been categorized as  sensitive.

          As per the reports, the respective polling party has reported at concerned polling station safely and smoothly. The polling shall be held tomorrow from 7 am to 2pm.

During the first phase election of DDC, 12584 total voters will cast their vote which will decide the fate of 10 contesting candidates from different national &regional parties.

The overall in charge of the election in district Samba, Additional Deputy Commissioner, Suram Chand Sharma, said that all the necessary arrangements for conduct of free, fair and transparent DDC elections have been  ensured besides the SOPs of COVID-19 are also adhered for ensuring the elections in a safe environment.

The DDC elections, in district samba will be held in eight phases from November 28 to December 19 and the polling will take place through ballot boxes while arrangements for postal ballots for COVID-19 patients or those in isolation, senior citizens and those who are physically unwell are also put in place.

Senior Superintended of Police, Samba, Rajesh Sharma informed that elaborated arrangements have been made for security of the polling parties and identification of sensitive and Non sensitive Polling stations has also been made well in advance.

District administration Samba has appealed to general public for coming in large numbers to cast  their valuable vote and strengthening the grass root democracy.

During the dispatch process,  General Observer Pankaj Magotra; Assistant commissioner Revenue Jitender Mishra; Dy. District Election Officer Rajeev Magotra; District Informatics Officer, Sanjeev Kappor besides other nodal and district officers along with field staff and police personal were also present.