Press "Enter" to skip to content

This is what delimitation commission has proposed. Full detail

Last Updated on February 5, 2022 at 6:02 pm

Jammu and Kashmir delimitation commission has suggested major changes in assembly constituencies of J&K resulting in major discontent among people.

The report was sent to the five associate members Farooq Abdullah, Hasnain Masoodi and Akbar Lone (Lok Sabha MPs from the National Conference) and Jitendra Singh and Jugal Kishore (BJP MPs).

The report has proposed redrawing of the Anantnag parliamentary seat by including Rajouri and Poonch from the Jammu region and carrying out major changes in the Kashmir division, reportedly.

Many of the assembly seats in erstwhile Jammu and Kashmir state have disappeared that include Habba Kadal.

The commission has suggested a new constituency Trehgam in Kupwara district and added Kralpora tehsil to Karnah constituency.  Chanpora is the new constituency comprising the whole Chanpora tehsil in Srinagar district.

Baramulla has got two new constituencies – Kunzer and Tangmarg – while the existing Sangrama constituency has been merged with Tangmarg.

Pulwama, Tral and some areas of Shopian, which formed part of the Anantnag Lok Sabha seat, will now be part of the Srinagar Parliamentary seat. Sangrama seat in North Kashmir has been merged with other assembly seats.

Officials have asked associate members to submit their views by February 14 after which the report would be put in the public domain.