Site icon JK Newsline

Adhoc appointment of 16 District Judges extended by six months

high court of jammu and kashmir

The tenure of 16 District Judges who were appointed on adhoc basis has been extended for a period of six months with effect from July 15, 2021 by J&K Department of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs.

Authorization to the extension in adhoc appointment of these District Judges, appointed vide Government Order No 153-JK(LD) of 2021 dated January 15, has been accorded in terms of rule 20 of the Jammu and Kashmir Higher Judicial Service Rules 2009 as per High Court of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh.

The names of the District Judges includes Abdul Nasir, Surinder Singh, Javid Ahmed Gilani, Ajay Kumar Gupta, Sudhir Kumar Khajuria, Om Prakash Thakur, Gowhar Majid Dalai, JavedAlam, MehrajUd Din Sofi, Surjeet Singh Bali, Om Prakash Bhagat, Manjeet Singh Mannas, Naushad Ahmed Khan, SomLal, Mohammad Ashraf Bhat and Pradeep Kumar.

The order issued by Law Secretary Achal Sethi reads, “The ad-hoc appointment of the District Judges shall be for a period of six months or till the regular selection or appointment is made, whichever is earlier. It shall not confer any right to claim seniority or any other superior right to the appointees vis¬a-vis the District Judges who may be appointed pursuant to a regular selection process”.

Exit mobile version