Press "Enter" to skip to content

EC announces dates for assembly elections in five states

Last Updated on January 8, 2022 at 5:15 pm

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has announced the dates for assembly elections in five states on Saturday.

The schedule for five states Uttar Pradesh, Goa, Manipur, Punjab, and Uttarakhand have been announced and counting of votes for all five poll-bound states will take place on March 10, three days after the final phase of polling ends, the poll panel informed.

Uttar Pradesh will vote in each of the seven phases – on February 10, February 14, February 20, February 23, February 27, March 3, and March 7. Punjab, Goa, and Uttarakhand will vote on February 14. Manipur will vote in two phases on February 27 March 3.

“Elections will be held for 403 assembly seats in UP, 117 in Punjab, 70 in Uttarakhand 60 in Manipur and 40 in Goa”, said Chief Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra.

Due to increase in Covid-19 cases, the Election Commission has banned election rallies, roadshows and corner meetings till January 15 in the five poll-bound states. Chief Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra said that the poll authority will review the Covid-19 situation on January 15 and take a further call on allowing public rallies.