Press "Enter" to skip to content

In a fresh bout of showdown between Azad and Mir, several Congress leaders resign

Last Updated on November 17, 2021 at 2:12 pm

Several leaders of Jammu and Kashmir Congress who are considered close to former Chief Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad have tendered their resignation from their part posts.

Factionalism in the party has now reached J&K where Congress leaders alleged that they were resigning as they were not happy with state party chief Ghulam Ahmad Mir.

Those who have resigned include former ministers such as GM Saroori, Vikar Rasool Wani, Jugal Kishore Sharma, Manohar Lal Sharma, Naresh Gupta, Ghulam Nabi Monga, Subash Gupta, Amin Bhat and Anwar Bhat have submitted their resignations to Sonia Gandhi and AICC J&K in-charge Rajani Patil.

Ghulam Ahmad Mir when contacted said that disciplinary action will be taken against the leaders who have directly sent the letter to party president Sonia Gandhi and went to the media.

It has been learnt that differences were brewing between Ghulam Nabi Azad and Mir for past long time now. A party insider also told JK Newsline that during Diwali Milan event hosted by Azad recently, a letter was already drafted and got signed by the party leaders who have resigned from their party posts.

Azad who is one of the leaders of G23 has also shot off a letter to Sonia Gandhi last year over the uncertainty and drift in the party.